Director's Biographies


Russell King

Non-Executive Chairman

Appointed:  Russell King was appointed to the Board in July 2014 and as Non-Executive Chairman in September 2015.

Experience:  Russell is a highly experienced board-level executive with experience across a number of sectors including technology, industrials, chemicals and mining. During his career he has been Chief Strategy Officer of Anglo American plc and spent over 20 years at ICI, working within its fertiliser, petrochemical and paint businesses. Russell is currently Senior Independent Non-Executive Director and Chairman of the Remuneration Committee of Aggreko plc, Senior Independent Non-Executive Director and Chairman of the Remuneration Committee of Spectris plc, Chairman of Hummingbird Resources plc and Senior Independent Non-Executive Director of Interserve plc. He is also a senior adviser to Heidrick & Struggles.

Richard Smith

Acting Chief Executive Officer

Appointed: Richard Smith was appointed to the Board in January 2016 as Chief Financial Officer and was appointed Acting Chief Executive Officer on 14 September 2016.

Experience: Richard has held the position of CFO for a number of listed and privately held technology businesses, most recently Imagination Technologies Group plc. Richard is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales and holds an MBA from Henley Business School and an MA in Economics from Cambridge University.

Gordon Watling

Chief Executive Officer (on leave of absence)

Appointed: Gordon Watling was appointed to the Board as Chief Executive Officer on 1 October 2008, having served as Chief Operating Officer since joining the Group in November 2006. Gordon has taken a leave of absence on medical grounds with effect from 14 September 2016.

Experience: Gordon was previously Global Engineering Director of Honeywell's Electronic Sensing business from 2003 to 2006 and Operations Director of Invensys Energy Systems from 1998 to 2000, until he became Development Manager at HP/Agilent Technologies in 2000. Prior to that, Gordon had operations, development and manufacturing roles at Schlumberger Industries between 1985 and 1997.

Sion Kearsey

Non-Executive Director

Appointed: Sion Kearsey is a founding member of Sepura and joined the Group in 2002.

Experience: Sion was a cofounder of Kelso Place Asset Management LLP and was previously a Managing Director of Goldman Sachs International in its Fixed Income, Currencies and Commodities Division. Sion is currently Managing Partner of Kelso Place Asset Management LLP, a private equity firm specialising in acquiring controlling interests in UK based companies.

Nigel Smith

Independent Non-Executive Director
(Chairman of the Remuneration Committee)

Appointed: Nigel Smith joined the Group in July 2013.

Experience: Nigel is a highly experienced executive with deep technology sector expertise. He has previously held positions in HM Treasury as Permanent Secretary, Board Member and Chief Executive of the Office of Government Commerce, and is still actively involved with government as an adviser. His previous experience also includes senior board roles at major industrial and engineering businesses, including Invensys plc, Charter Group plc, TI Group plc and as Chairman of Spikes Cavell.

Nigel is currently a Non-Executive Board Member and Chairman of the Audit Committee of Sellafield Ltd the nuclear decommissioning and reprocessing company and a Non-Executive Director of Obillex Limited, a trade finance business focussed on the UK public sector.

Gordon Stuart

Independent Non-Executive Director
(Chairman of the Audit Committee)

Appointed: Gordon Stuart joined the Group in July 2013.

Experience: Following six years at McKinsey & Co, Gordon held senior positions with a number of highly successful UK listed businesses, serving as Group Finance Director of London Bridge Software plc and thereafter Xansa plc. He then became Chief Financial Officer of recruitment process outsourcing firm, Alexander Mann Solutions. He also served as a Non-Executive Director of Intec Telecom Systems PLC. Gordon is currently Chief Financial Officer of TMF Group, a leading global provider of high value outsourced business services.